Deliver Us from Evil

Outstanding analysis from Robin of Berkeley who is rapidly becoming one of my favorite writers as she continues to share her spiritual journey into the light as a “recovering liberal”:

Deliver Us from Evil.

“This random experience flashed in my mind recently when I was in a Berkeley bookstore. With my newfound interest in religion, I wanted to peruse that section. After hunting down a clerk to unearth the tiny religion area, I perused the shelves. In actuality, the area should have been called the Anti-Christianity Section.
While there were respectful tomes on the other religions, the Christianity section was a virtual pillorying of Jesus. Every book denounced him, mocked him, or reinvented him as something entirely new. There were books debunking the Gospel, with each author sounding gleeful, like a wicked child.
Now, I understand that some people reject religion. But why the venom? The contempt, the need to torpedo Christ?

This campaign against Christianity isn’t confined to an obscure Berkeley bookstore. And it didn’t begin with Obama. There’s been an active crusade for decades to try to destroy Jesus with Alinksy-like tactics: freeze the subject, humiliate, marginalize…

…In the past I would simply put on my therapist cap with people like these. I’d probe their childhood for evidence of maltreatment. I’d label them as narcissists and antisocial personalities.  But now I have a different worldview, one that goes much deeper than just the psychological. Now I understand that this world is infused with the Divine. And that there is a competing force, one that is the polar opposite.
I now have a word for that creepy feeling deep down in my gut. And I finally understand the source.  Now I see what’s really behind the campaign to banish religion; it’s to render us utterly helpless. Because after all, without God, what protection is there in this brutal world?
Sadly, grievously, I look out on my country. I see the corruption and undoing. I witness the ever-growing tsunami of hate that threatens everyone in its path.   And I see citizens oblivious to the dangers because they’re mired in the slime of moral relativism. They have no language, no hiding place, no possible way to shield their children in the deep and darkest nights.
And I see that lunatic, the one with the crazy, hollow eyes. But he’s not just on Telegraph Avenue. He’s far and wide: in the hallowed halls of Congress, in the institutes of higher learning, in basement rooms where small men troll.
If you listen closely, you can hear that same diabolical cry: “I want what you have.  And if I can’t have it, I’ll destroy it.”
About stevehull

Music director in Naples, FL
This entry was posted in Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

