Protest songs

I’ve been noticing lately how some of the old protest songs from the late 60s/early 70s have taken on a new meaning for me.  For example, riding in the car yesterday I was listening to “Lowdown” by Chicago:

Oh my, life has passed me by/  the country I was brought up in fell apart and died/ Oh no, love’s no longer there/ someone came and stole the sun that used to warm the air/ Oh no, feelin’ pretty bad/ feelin’ like I lost the best friend that I ever had/ Oh no, got to find a way/ got to make the people see the way I feel today

Does that sound like a familiar feeling in the wake of the recent debates in Congress where no one seemed to be listening to what the people were trying to tell them?

Or how about this from “You can’t always get what you want” from the Rolling Stones:

I went down to the demonstration/ to get my share of abuse…

Can you say Tea Party anyone?  Dare to speak out against an ever growing government Leviathan and get labeled as a “racist, homophobic hatemonger” for your trouble…  Funny how some people don’t seem to understand that the 1st Amendment was specifically written to protect political free speech!!

Here’s Chicago’s “Poem for the People”:

If the people only knew/ if they could visualize/ just open their eyes/ even stop to think about/ if they could open their minds/ they could get beyond/ (Chorus) The world’s a funny place you know/ most of what goes on is rarely funny/ rarely funny at all

The great irony in all of this is that these and countless other examples that I haven’t yet had time to research were written in protest of “repressive right wing” administrations (even though how Richard Nixon can honestly be called “right wing” escapes me!) and, yet, they now seem to apply much more properly to the current developing tyranny coming from the Left.

Funny how things change!

About stevehull

Music director in Naples, FL
This entry was posted in Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

