Another one down…

Well, I completed another hurdle on the way to final certification to teach in Florida yesterday. I took the “General Knowledge” test for elementary teachers. This is essentially a test to screen out the total morons… I mean, anyone who couldn’t pass this test has absolutely no business being in front of a class. However, it is a 5-6 hour affair in 4 sections: writing an essay, English language skills, reading comprehension and math.

The essay question turned out to be a huge “hanging curveball” right over the plate: “Write about a place you have lived or visited that people have misconceptions about.” Those of you that know anything about me know that I lived in Africa for 5 years as a child. That essay virtually wrote itself! The English language and reading sections were also a breeze (thanks to my mom’s drilling all those grammar and spelling rules into my head when I was a kid).

The math was probably the most challenging, since I haven’t taken a math class since my senior year in high school (1974!) Most of the questions weren’t too bad if you just stopped to take a moment to think them through and make sure of exactly what was being asked. Towards the end there were 3 or 4 questions that got into really advanced algebra (graphing equations, solving equations with multiple variables, etc.) and I really couldn’t remember how to do those. (Cassie… I was wishing you were there to help refresh my memory! đŸ™‚ With it being multiple choice I still have a one out of 4 chance on those…

Anyway, on the whole I feel really confident that I did well. I don’t have to ace it, just pass it and I’m sure I did. The one other hurdle I have to pass this year is a 2 Saturday course called English for Speakers of Other Languages… a requirement due to the many different cultures that we see represented in our schools here. So far, so good….

About stevehull

Music director in Naples, FL
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

