I feel like a kid again…

The more time that I spend getting back into the mindset of elementary school kids, the younger I feel. No, Jay Sprout, I didn’t say I feel “childish”…. 🙂 just more childlike. As I work this week on planning and preparing for the kids who are coming in next Monday, I am starting to remember all the things that I enjoyed about teaching when I did it 20 years ago. In particular, I am remembering the sheer joy of discovering music for the first time as I try to put myself in the place of the kids next week to whom all that I try to teach them will be new.

In a lot of ways, it’s reminding me of what Jesus meant when He said that you have to become as a little child to enter heaven. I think what He meant was that you have to be willing to open yourself up to the wonder of discovery that tends to grow faint and disappear as we grow older. Kind of like in the movie Hook, where Robin Williams’ Peter has grown old and forgotten how to fly… has to learn all over again. I guess that’s kind of where I am right now… and I’m loving it!

About stevehull

Music director in Naples, FL
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I feel like a kid again…

  1. J is for Joy says:

    So few people get that … sense of awe …

    I love that scene in L.A. Story where Mr. & Mrs. Martin become children as they walk hand-in-hand.

    It’s so hard because you open yourself up to so much good and it makes it easier to get hurt.

    Being “childish” gets a bad rap … I think Jesus would agree that Everything we Need to Know we Learned in Kindergarten – it’s straight from the Gospel.–>

Leave a Reply

